A self-regulatory code of conduct for ITO (Initial Token Offering) and ICO

I Am Not A Lawyer, but just in case I will borrow the disclaimer that lawyers use.

Disclaimer: The following analysis is for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal advice. You should contact an attorney for advice with respect to any particular issue or problem. Use of and access to this post does not create any attorney-client relationship between the author and the user or reader.

Read on, plenty of lawyers involved in making this happen.

This document outlines:

❏ Why ITOs are difficult to understand

❏ Why ITOs could be very valuable

❏ Why ITOs are dangerous

❏ Why the conventional regulatory approach won’t work

❏ One approach to the global jurisdictional problem

❏ The people behind this initiative

❏ The process from here

Why ITOs are difficult to understand
Is it a bird, is it a plane, is it a…
It is a new paradigm, yet all of us (entrepreneurs, investors and regulators) seek a simple analogy from traditional finance. Is it a:

● Currency (ICO) like another Altcoin?
● Equity (IEO) with a fixed supply (max = 100%)?
● Bond (IBO) with a fixed income?
● ANO Asset (IAO) (like property, art, wine)?
● Something entirely new where none of the old analogies quite work? This could be something technical like a database right or access right.

We use the term Initial Token Offering because “token” is neutral. A token represents value and that value could be a currency, equity shares, a fixed income bond or any other asset. However we also recognise that ICO is used by most people in the market.

These are new concepts and none of the old analogies fit. Different market participants see it in different ways and some promote that view out of self interest. These competing viewpoints from interested parties make understanding even harder.

Why ITOs could be very valuable
The old saw is “if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it”.